Distinct features made Lord Swaminarayan unique and divine.  He had many beauty spots all over His body. These features and cheens are those that only Almighty God Supreme would possess.


Lotus feet of Lord Swaminarayan

The Lord has sixteen symbolic icons on His Lotus Feet, with nine cheens on His right foot and seven on His left foot.  These cheens are unique to Almighty God and no other human being on the earth possesses such features.  One can recognise Almighty God Supreme by observing His divine Lotus Feet. 

One gains guidance and help to the path of righteousness and salvation through meditating and focusing upon the Lotus Feet of Lord. Nishkulanand Swami examined the qualities of each cheen. One achieves the following results of the mind and soul through meditation upon each cheen.







Good luck


Ashtakon (Octagon)

Easily able to overcome hardship arising from the elements of the universe


Ankush (Goad)

Control over mind and senses, in the same way an elephant owner controls his elephant by using the ankush


Kamal (Lotus)

Constant focus on Lord Swaminarayan is achieved, forces of maya are kept at bay, just as the lotus flower remains on water


Ketu (Flag)

Guided through life with the principles of Lord Shree Swaminarayan, in the same way that wind guides the sway and direction of a flag


Urdhva-Rekha (Ascendant Line)

Attainment of salvation 


Vajra (Sword)

Inner negative forces and evils are overcome


Jambu (Blackberry)

Liberated from the desire of taste


Java (Barley grain)

Attainment of inner tranquillity and eradication of sins



Matsya (Fish)

Permanent and inseparable bond developed with Lord Swaminarayan.  In the same way that a fish cannot live without water


Trikon (Triangle)

The three forms of suffering, being mental suffering, suffering imposed by other beings and natural hardships are eliminated


Gaupad (Cow foot print)

Easily able to break away from the cycle of birth and death, in the same way that one is able to easily stride over the foot print of a cow


Dhanush (Bow)

Inner enemies are overcome


Vyom (Space)

The heart remains pure and does not get polluted by worldly objects and pleasures, in the same way that space remains pure



Ardha Chandra (Half moon)

State of calmness attained in the heart at all times, in the same way that the moon always appears calm and at peace


Kalash (Holy Pot)

Goal of salvation and aims in life are attained